A Thousand Kisses

Yesterday, I received a text message from T-Mobile saying $40 was applied to my account. Why is this worth mentioning? Because I didn’t do it, and I don’t know who did. I called T-Mobile. As I was explaining this to them I couldn’t help but to feel stupid that I was complaining about someone crediting $40 to my account. When the call-rep suggested maybe the in-store rep accidentally put my number in by mistake after doing a transaction with someone with a similar number to mines I almost hung up the phone. Why should I care? They didn’t take from me; they enhanced me. The rep couldn’t find the payer’s name. All he could find was the last 4 digits of the card number. None of my cards matched. I even took it there! There as in me thinking someone hacked my account. How could T-Mobile let someone have the ability to pay for my phone bill AND IT’S NOT ME! No one has never paid my phone bill for me so I wanted to know who the hell this nice person was. 

Oh! I took it all the way there! You know, when you first get on the phone with them and they ask you security questions. Well 10 minutes into the conversation with the rep he highlighted this to me to make me feel warm and safe. He said, “When we first got on the phone I asked you to verify your full name and last 4 digits of your social.” Uhhhh now you didn’t. You asked my name. That’s it. “Aww well what’s your social?” It’s too late now! We been on the phone 10 minutes and I could have been a world class identity thief. 

Later that day, I found out where the $40 came from: My grandma. I had my iPhone on Do Not Disturb while she was calling me yesterday and she took it as my phone was turned off and contributed some money to my bill. Sigh. 

What Are Your Thoughts?

