The Poem That Wrote Itself

The Poem That Wrote Itself: 3+8+8 (March 8, 2008)

The paper is shooting blanks

The pen ain’t bleeding ink

Attempted murder on writer’s block

The police sirens are so loud I can’t hear myself think

My thinking cap is half off my head

Seven the number of completion is spelled s-e-v

The light-bulb on the top of my head flickers on and off

The writer’s strike best picket sign belonged to me

The pilot of a paper airplane that was hi-jacked on 9/11

A paperboy who plays rock, paper, with Edward Scissorshand

A student who failed his test after playing pencil break

A basketball player who shoots balled up paper at the trashcan

What Are Your Thoughts?

